

University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas, has been named to the National Advisory Research Resources Council of the National Institutes of Health.

The 18-member council is composed of biomedical scientists, health science administrators and others who are interested in the program areas of the Division of Research Resources. The division conceives, develops and ensures the availability of resources essential to the conduct of human health research.

A major function of the council is to review grant applications for the division programs including the General Clinical Research Center, Primate Research Center, Laboratory Animal Resource, Biotechnology Resource, Biomedical Research Support and Minority Biomedical Research Support Programs.

Seldin earned his M.D. degree from the Yale University School of Medicine in 1943 and continued his university affiliation as an instructor and then assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine. In 1951 he joined UT Southwestern Medical School (now a component of UTHSCD) as associate professor in the Department of Internal Medicine and was promoted to professor and chairman of that department a year later.

He has been a member of numerous advisory committees both in the private sector and in the federal government. These include the General Medicine Study Section and the General Clinical Research Center Committee of the NIH; Executive Council of the Surgeon General's Advisory Committee on General Medicine and National Commission for the Protection of Human Subjects of Biomedical and Behavioral Research of the Department of Health, Education and Welfare. He has served as chairman of the Dialysis and Transplantation Committee of the National Kidney Foundation Scientific Advisory Board and the Massachusetts General Hospital Scientific Advisory Committee.

Past president of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Society of Nephrology and the Association of American Physicians, Seldin is a fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. In 1974 he was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences Institute of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

In addition to his teaching responsibilities, he currently sits on the Board of Trustees of the Rand Corporation and is president-elect of the International Society of Nephrology. He will take the office of president of that organization in June.