## **SOJTHWESTERN NEWS**

Media Contact: Susan Morrison 214-648-3404 susan.morrison@utsouthwestern.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN NOBEL LAUREATE NAMED TRUSTEE OF HOWARD HUGHES MEDICAL INSTITUTE

DALLAS – Oct. 8, 2002 – Dr. Joseph Goldstein, Nobel laureate and chairman of molecular genetics at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has been elected a trustee of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in Chevy Chase, Md.

He is one of 10 trustees of the HHMI, a national philanthropic organization that promotes medical research. HHMI annually invests more than \$440 million in biomedical research and disburses more than \$100 million each year for science education and scientific career development through its grants program.

"I am delighted and honored to work with an organization like HHMI that supports the very best in biomedical research in a very generous way," said Goldstein, who shared the 1985 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine with fellow UT Southwestern scientist Dr. Michael Brown for their discovery of the underlying mechanism of cholesterol metabolism. Their work continues to focus on cholesterol regulation and its role in disease.

Goldstein has served on the HHMI Medical Advisory Board since 1985, becoming its chairman in 1995. He also served on its Scientific Review Board from 1978 to 1984.

Goldstein received his medical degree in 1966 from UT Southwestern. After completing his internship and residency at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston and serving as a clinical associate at the National Institutes of Health, he returned to UT Southwestern in 1972 to head the newly formed medical genetics department, later renamed the Department of Molecular Genetics. He became chairman of the department in 1977.

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the NAS' Institute of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. At UT Southwestern, he holds the Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and shares the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine with Brown.

HHMI investigators at UT Southwestern are Dr. Johann Deisenhofer, professor of (MORE)

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

## **TRUSTEE - 2**

biochemistry and 1988 winner of the Nobel Prize in chemistry; Dr. Kirsten Fischer Lindahl, professor in the Center for Immunology and of microbiology; Dr. David L. Garbers, professor of pharmacology and biochemistry; Dr. Nick V. Grishin, assistant professor of biochemistry; Dr. Robert E. Hammer, professor of biochemistry; Dr. Helen Hobbs, director of the Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development and the Donald W. Reynolds Cardiovascular Clinical Research Center and chief of clinical genetics; Dr. David J. Mangelsdorf, professor of pharmacology; Dr. Rama Ranganathan, assistant professor of pharmacology; Dr. Stephen R. Sprang, professor of biochemistry; Dr. Thomas C. Südhof, director of the Center for Basic Neuroscience and professor of molecular genetics; Dr. Xiaodong Wang, professor of biochemistry; and Dr. Masashi Yanagisawa, professor of molecular genetics.

###

This news release is available on our World Wide Web home page at http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/home\_pages/news/

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail, subscribe at <a href="http://lists.utsouthwestern.edu/mailman/listinfo/utswnews">http://lists.utsouthwestern.edu/mailman/listinfo/utswnews</a>