## SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Phil Schoch

(214) 648-3404

email: Schoch@UTSW.swmed.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY GARNER HONORS

DALLAS – Nov. 15, 1996 – The following UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas faculty members were recognized recently for outstanding achievement in their fields:

Eric Eichhorn, M.D., will receive the Paul Dudley White Award from the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States in a November ceremony.

Eichhorn, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, is director of the cardiac catheterization laboratory at the Dallas Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

The award cites Eichhorn for "his dedicated efforts and important contributions to the advancement of knowledge and treatment of congestive heart failure and other cardiac disease. His contributions have added new dimensions to the national health-care effort and have contributed significantly to the success of national cardiovascular medical research."

The Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians presented Kenneth Altshuler, M.D., chairman of psychiatry and holder of the Stanton Sharp Distinguished Chair in Psychiatry at UT Southwestern, with its Psychiatric Excellence Award for 1996 Nov. 3 in Galveston at the organization's annual meeting. The award is given annually in recognition of a psychiatrist's dedication and excellence in clinical practice, teaching, research, administration and community service.

Joel Feiner, M.D., professor of psychiatry at UT Southwestern, recently received the 1996 Exemplary Psychiatrist Award from the Dallas Alliance for the Mentally Ill

(MORE)

## HONORS -- 2

(AMI). The National AMI recognizes psychiatrists with these awards who provide outstanding care and support to people with severe mental illness and their families. Feiner was honored for his work with people suffering from severe brain disorders and their families.

Richard Mabry, M.D., has been recognized as an outstanding educator in the field of otolaryngic allergy. At its annual meeting, the 2,300-member American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy honored Mabry with the Golden Apple Award. The professor of otorhinolaryngology at UT Southwestern was recognized for his efforts in writing, teaching and promoting research.

Susan M. Ramin, M.D., associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology at UT Southwestern, has been awarded a national 1996 Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology faculty award. Obstetrics and gynecology residents at UT Southwestern nominated her for the teaching award.