J SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty members named Ashbel Smith Professors

DALLAS – June 2, 2006 – Three UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty members have been named Ashbel Smith Professors, one of the highest honors awarded to faculty members by The University of Texas System.

Drs. Ronald Estabrook and John "Jack" Johnston, both professors of biochemistry and obstetrics and gynecology, and Dr. John Vanatta, professor of physiology, were appointed to the position.

"The UT System established Ashbel Smith Professorships as a means of recognizing long-term contributions by exceptional faculty members," said Dr. Kern Wildenthal, UT Southwestern president. "Ron Estabrook, Jack Johnston and John Vanatta are perfect examples of what this honor is intended to symbolize. This appointment is an appropriate reflection of the career-long excellence and dedicated service that have characterized their presence on our faculty."

The Board of Regents created Ashbel Smith professorships in 1963 in honor of the father of the UT System and the first chairman of the Board of Regents. Dr. Smith was the surgeon general to the Republic of Texas and founder of the Texas Medical Association.

The Ashbel Smith Professorship is awarded in recognition not only of teaching and scholarship, but also of personal character that serves as an example to students and faculty. Each UT institution may have only five Ashbel Smith Professors at one time.

UT Southwestern's other Ashbel Smith Professors are Dr. Burton Combes, professor of internal medicine, and Dr. Jack Reynolds, professor of radiology. Dr. Charles Mullins, who recently retired from the faculty, is an Ashbel Smith Professor-emeritus, as were the late Drs. Phillip O'Bryan Montgomery, who passed away earlier this year, and Morris Ziff, who died in 2005.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone 214-648-3404 • Telefax 214-648-9119 www.utsouthwestern.edu