Zale Lipshy University Hospital

At Southwestern Medical Center

May 4, 1990

News Release

CONTACT: Susan Rutherford
Office: 214/688-3404
Home: 214/349-7820
Fax: 214/688-8252

****University Medical Center, Inc.
announces new board members

DALLAS -- University Medical Center, Inc--the independent, nonprofit corporation that manages Zale Lipshy University Hospital at Southwestern Medical Center--has elected 10 new members to its board of directors, UMC Board Chairman Donald Zale announced.

New board members include John Bunten, president of First City, Dallas; Charles Hazzard, executive vice president and chief administrative officer of Occidental Chemical Corp.; Jane Heldt, a community volunteer who has served on the board of the Dallas Theater Center; Carolyn Horchow, a board member of the Dallas Ballet, KERA-TV and the Susan G. Komen Foundation; and Kerney Laday, vice president and general manager for the southwestern region of Xerox Corp.'s U.S. marketing group.

Additional new board members are Nancy Perot Mulford, venture capital area of the Perot Group and board member of the Dallas Symphony; Joe Musolino, vice chairman, Dallas of NCNB Texas; Robert Priddy of Wichita Falls, chairman of the board of Dual Drilling Co.; Steve Sands, executive director of The Rosewood Corp.; and Jeanne Whittenburg of Amarillo, a community volunteer who has served on The Hockaday School board.

Current board members are Adrian Alter, Ruth Sharp Altshuler, Paul

(More)

Bass, Gene Bishop, Nancy Brinker, W. Plack Carr Jr., Al Casey, J.E.R. Chilton, William Collins, Charles Cullum, Ruben Esquivel, Lee Fikes, Gerald Fronterhouse, John Harbin, W.R. Hawn, Jess Hay, Alphonso Jackson, John Kickham and Barron Kidd.

Also currently on the board are Thomas Law, Bruce Lipshy, Anne Margolin, Mrs Eugene McDermott, Bart McLendon, L. William McNutt Jr., Patricia Patterson, John Penson, Lawrence Pollock Jr., C. Vincent Prothro, David Quinn, Tom Rhodes Sr., Dr. Michael Romaine, Frank Ryburn Jr., Annette Simmons, Charles Solomon, Dr. Charles Sprague, Diana Strauss, Pauline Sullivan, Jere Thompson, Carl Westcott, Terry Wilson, Warren Woodward, Donald Zale, Gene Zale and Lew Zale.

University Hospital is a referral, research and teaching hospital affiliated with The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas and staffed by Southwestern Medical School faculty.