## SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Bridgette Rose McNeill (214) 648-3404 bridgette.mcneill@email.swmed.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – November 18, 1998 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields:

**Dr. Orval Brown** was one of 53 ear, nose and throat specialists to receive the Honor Award from the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at its recent annual meeting. The award, bestowed since 1934, recognizes physicians who have contributed to the academy through activities such as presentation of scientific papers or participation in a continuing education committee. Brown is associate professor of otorhinolaryngology at UT Southwestern.

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy has honored **Dr. Richard Mabry** for the pioneering clinical research he and his wife, UT Southwestern nurse Cynthia Mabry, have done in the field of allergic fungal sinusitis. The academy presented Mabry, professor of otorhinolaryngology, with the Pen and Scroll Award during its recent annual meeting in San Antonio.

**Dr. John McConnell**, UT Southwestern chairman of urology, has been named to the board of directors of the American Urological Association. McConnell holds the E.E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology and is director of the Dr. Bob Smith Foundation Center for Prostate Research.

###