Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Feb. 17, 2006 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Chandra Mohan, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, received the Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award during the 2005 American College of Rheumatology Annual Scientific Meeting held in November. The award is given to a young physician scientist who has made important scientific contributions to the field of rheumatology. Dr. Mohan was recognized for his research on lupus.

Dr. Debu Tripathy, professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and director of the Komen/UT Southwestern Breast Cancer Research Program, has been elected president of the Society for Integrative Oncology. SIO was founded in 2002 as a nonprofit organization for health professionals dedicated to the study and application of innovative complementary therapies and botanicals and the integration of these approaches with conventional oncology care. Dr. Tripathy is renowned for his breast cancer research that emphasizes standard as well innovative therapeutic approaches.

###