Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404

lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Feb. 5, 2010 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Robert L. Johnson Jr., professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been awarded the Robert F. Grover Prize by the Pulmonary Circulation Assembly of the American Thoracic Society. This prestigious prize is given "for outstanding contributions to the study of the effects of hypoxia and high altitude on the pulmonary circulation." Dr. Johnson previously has received the American Thoracic Society Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishment in honor of his research on the mechanisms of adaptation to cardiopulmonary stress.

Dr. James Richardson, professor of pathology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, and **Dr. Susan Cox**, associate dean for medical education and professor of obstetrics and gynecology at UT Southwestern, received the highest honors at the medical center's fifth annual Excellence in Education Awards ceremony and reception. Dr. J. Gregory Fitz, UT Southwestern executive vice president for academic affairs, provost and dean of the medical school, presented the Distinguished Basic Science Educator Award to Dr. Richardson and the Distinguished Clinical Science Educator Award to Dr. Cox. All awards were voted on by the Teaching Awards Committee.

"We are spoiled at UT Southwestern by the extremely high educational standards of our faculty," said Dr. Fitz. "Those recognized by these awards have distinguished themselves as the best of the best."

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, the official journal of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, has won a 2009 APEX Award of Excellence, which recognizes excellence in publications work by professional communicators. **Dr. Rod Rohrich**, chairman of plastic surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has served as editor-in-chief of the journal since 2004.

###