southwestern medical school - graduate school of biomedical sciences - school of allied health sciences

May 27, 1977

Contact: Ellaine Clay Work: 688-3404

Home: 341-8732

*****Southwestern Medical School Graduates hit 3,000 mark; Keeton to speak at rites.

DALLAS--Page Keeton, dean emeritus of The University of Texas Law School, will address the 35th annual commencement ceremonies of Southwestern Medical School and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, components of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas, at 8 p.m. on Saturday, June 4 on campus.

When Southwestern's 152 diplomas are handed out, the medical school's total number of graduates in its 34-year history will go over the 3,000 mark.

Presentation of the 18 women and 134 men candidates for doctor of medicine degrees will be made by Dr. Frederick J. Bonte, dean of Southwestern. Dr. Kern Wildenthal, dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, will present the 25 candidates for graduate degrees, including 11 doctorates in philosophy, seven masters of science and seven masters of arts degrees.

Academic hoods will be presented by Dr. Bruce D. Fallis, professor of pathology; Dr. Alan K. Pierce, professor of internal medicine; Dr. William B. Neaves, associate dean of the graduate school, and Dr. Paul S. McCollum, associate professor of rehabilitation science and psychiatry.

The physician's oath will be administered to the medical graduates by Dr. Bonte. Marshals for the academic procession will be Dr. Jack Reynolds, vice-chairman of radiology, and Dr. Hal Weathersby, professor of cell biology and health care science.

The invocation and benediction will be given by W.B.J. Martin, D.D., minister emeritus of First Community Church.

A highlight of the program will be the presentation of the Ho Din award to an outstanding senior medical student. The \$1,000 award, made annually by the Southwestern Medical Foundation, will be presented by L.S. Turner, Jr., a trustee of the foundation.

Special music will be provided by a brass emsemble comprised of faculty members from North Texas State University in Denton.

Professor Keeton, who will be speaking to the graduates on "Law in a Free Society," is considered one of the nation's foremost authorities on torts.

He served from 1949 to 1974 as dean of The University of Texas Law School, where he continues to teach and hold the endowed W. Page Keeton Professorship in the Law of Torts.

In 1975, Keeton received the American Bar Association's award of excellence to an educator "for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of legal education."

He is currently chairman of the Medical Professional Liability Study Commission, an 18-member group created by the Texas Legislature to probe malpractice insurance problems.

The former dean has also written extensively for various law journals and in recent years has specialized in products liability. On that subject, he is the co-author of "Products and the Consumer: Defective and Dangerous Products" and a companion volume, "Products and the Consumer: Deceptive Practices."

Keeton served on the Texas Constitution Revision Commission and was chairman of a State Bar advisory committee that recommended reforms in the Texas penal code.

He was the 1961 president of the Association of American Law Schools and was a member of President Lyndon B. Johnson's Advisory Committee on Labor-Management Policy from 1966 through 1968.

second add graduation

Dean Keeton earned a Doctor of Juridical Science degree from Harvard University in 1936 and both Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws degrees from The University of Texas in 1931.

##

DISTRIBUTION: A,B