## **SOJTHWESTERN NEWS**

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

## **3 UT Southwestern faculty receive honors**

DALLAS – August 13, 2004 – Three faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

**Dr. David Hillis**, vice chairman of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, has been named a member of the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine's (NCCAM) National Advisory Council.

The 18-member council, appointed by Health and Human Services Secretary Tommy Thompson, meets three times a year to offer advice and recommendations to the NCCAM on research, training and prioritizing projects.

Dr. Hillis has done extensive research on patients with ischemic, valvular and congenital heart disease, and has performed a series of studies on how cocaine affects the heart.

**Dr. Larry Irvin**, former clinical assistant professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, has been awarded a posthumous Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Academy of Home Care Physicians (AAHCP).

Dr. Irvin, who died in March from complications of cancer, was honored for his work to serve the senior citizens of Dallas County. Among other programs and services, he founded the Senior House Calls Geriatric Outreach Program for Parkland Health & Hospital System. The service provided medical care for the homebound, indigent elderly.

The academy noted Dr. Irvin's compassionate and respectful care for patients and their families. Dr. Irvin's truck was a familiar sight and well known in city neighborhoods by patients and caregivers alike, according to the AAHCP. His 2001 description of the impact of the Parkland program won him an AAHCP Best Poster Award.

**Dr. David Mangelsdorf**, professor of pharmacology and biochemistry at UT Southwestern, received the 2004 Gerald D. Aurbach Award from the Endocrine Society in June during the organization's annual meeting in New Orleans. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to research in endocrinology. As the award winner, Dr. Mangelsdorf presented a lecture during the meeting on the role of LXR nuclear receptors in regulating lipid metabolism.

Dr. Mangelsdorf is the 1998 recipient of the Endocrine Society's Richard E. Weitzman Memorial Award, given to an exceptionally promising young investigator.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics