SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Bridgette Rose McNeill (214) 648-3404 bridgette.mcneill@email.swmed.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS –December 28, 1998 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields:

Dr. Lynn Little, chairman of medical laboratory sciences and assistant dean of Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, was elected to a two-year term on the board of directors of the Association of Schools of Allied Health Profession. He was one of eight ASAHP members chosen to represent the association in the first Coalition for the Allied Health Leadership Development Program. Little also was recently voted president-elect of the Texas Society of Allied Health Professions and president-elect of the North Texas Chapter of the Clinical Laboratory Management Association.

Dr. George McCracken Jr., a professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern, received the President's Proclamation from the American Society for Microbiology. The society has established the annual George McCracken Infectious Disease Fellows Awards in recognition of his many contributions to the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy (ICAAC) and to the American Society for Microbiology. The Fellows Awards will finance travel grants for fellows whose abstracts have been accepted for publication.

Dr. James McCulley, chairman of ophthalmology at UT Southwestern, presented the prestigious Whitney Sampson lecture at the annual American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) meeting in November. The lecture focused on the identification, treatment and research of acanthamoeba keratitis, a rare but serious eye disease. This was the first time in the Whitney Sampson lecture's history that two physicians from the same institution were invited to speak at successive AAO meetings. Dr. H. Dwight Cavanagh, vice chairman of ophthalmology at UT Southwestern, gave the lecture in 1997.

The Bismarck Tribune named **Dr. Rod Rohrich**, chairman of plastic surgery at UT Southwestern, one of 20 notable North Dakotans in its new, annual compilation of maverick, enterprising leaders that hail from the state. The Tribune contacted the alumni associations of the state's universities and gathered a list of remarkable professionals. High-profile North Dakotans and current events-savvy journalists whittled the list down to the elite 20.

###