SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – July 31, 2002 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

The American Heart Association, Texas Affiliate, has selected **Dr. Keith**Wharton, assistant professor of pathology at UT Southwestern, as the recipient of the 2002 Lyndon Baines Johnson Research Award. Wharton received the award at the affiliate's volunteer leadership conference in San Francisco.

Wharton's research focuses on applying the principles of pattern formation to help better understand the pathogenesis of human diseases.

Dr. Weiguo Zhang, assistant professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, recently was awarded the 2002 American Society of Hypertension Monarch Pharmaceutical Young Scholars Award for his research into the neural mechanisms of cyclosporine-induced hypertension.

Zhang has completed a series of studies describing a novel mechanism by which immunosuppressive drugs cause acute hypertension. An understanding of how this process works may lead to the development of new drugs that may be able to block the elevating effects of cyclosproine on blood pressure, while leaving intact the drug's ability to prevent rejection of transplanted organs.