J SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty members receive honors

DALLAS – August 17, 2006 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Paul Bergstresser, chair of the Department of Dermatology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named editor of *The Journal of Investigative Dermatology* starting in June 2007. The journal is the official publication of the Society for Investigative Dermatology and the European Society for Dermatological Research.

Dr. Bergstresser has served 22 years as professor and chair of dermatology. He received his medical education at Stanford University and his clinical training at Stanford and the University of Miami.

Dr. Errol Friedberg, professor and chair of pathology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been selected to receive the 2007 Lila Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award from the American Academy of Dermatology. The annual award, established in 1972, honors a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to cancer research.

Dr. Friedberg receives a \$10,000 prize and will give a lecture at the academy's annual meeting Feb. 4. His research focuses on understanding the molecular mechanism of DNA repair and the role various cell processes play in cancer-related DNA damage.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone 214-648-3404 • Telefax 214-648-9119 www.utsouthwestern.edu