## NEWS RELEASE

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL SCHOOL AT DALLAS



FRANK CHAPPELL Director of Medical Information

BOB FENLEY Science News Editor

Nine representatives from The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School will participate in the Oct. 19-23 meeting of the American Society of Anesthesiologists in Washington.

They include Dr. M. T. Jenkins, McDermott Professor and Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiclogy at Southwestern; Dr. A. H. Giesecke, Jr., Dr. Burnell R. Brown, Dr. Vayden F. Stanley, Dr. C. R. Stephen, Dr. Thomas Burnap and Dr. David R. Maynard, all of the Department of Anesthesiology; Dr. J. Richard Crout of the Department of Pharmacology: and Dr. Charles R. Baxter of the Department of Surgery.

Drs. Brown and Crout will present a paper on "Comparative Effects of Five General Anesthetics on Myocardial Contractility." Drs. Giesecke, Stanley and Jenkins will present "Neuromuscular Block with Neomycin and its Reversal," while Drs. Maynard and Baxter will present "Methoxyflurane and Renal Function." Others will participate in various panels, refresher courses and discussions.

-more-

first add anesthesiologists

Dr. Giesecke is a member of the Annual Meeting Section committee and chairman of motion picture and audiovisual programs.

A movie, "New Trends in Obstetrical Anesthesia," produced by Southwestern in cooperation with five major medical centers in the United States, will be shown at the meeting.

October 1, 1968