SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media contact: Bridgette Rose McNeill 214-648-3404 bridgette.mcneill@email.swmed.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – December 29, 1999 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields:

The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named **Dr. Xiaodong Wang**, UT Southwestern associate professor of biochemistry and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, winner of the prestigious Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry for the year 2000. Wang will be recognized for his "pioneering contributions" to understanding the pathway that regulates apoptosis, or programmed cell death.

Dr. H. Dwight Cavanagh, UT Southwestern vice chairman of ophthalmology, is the recipient of the Paton Award, given annually by the Eye Bank Association of America. Named for Dr. R. Townley Paton, the founder of the first U.S. eye bank, the award is presented to one ophthalmologist a year in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of the Eye Bank Association of America.

Cavanagh, UT Southwestern's associate dean for clinical services, is the administrative liaison for transplant services on campus. Cavanagh is also medical director at Zale Lipshy University Hospital. A leading corneal disease expert and corneal transplant surgeon, Cavanagh has also done extensive research on contact lenses.

Dr. Lynn Little, chairman of medical laboratory sciences at Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, was elected president of the Dallas chapter of the Texas Society of Allied Health Professions. Little is also president of the North Texas chapter of the Clinical Laboratory Management Association and a member of the board of directors of the Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions.

Drs. Eric Hansen and **Leon Eidels**, UT Southwestern professors of microbiology, have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology. The organization comprises more than 1,300 distinguished scientists from more than 27 countries. They are recognized by their peers for excellence and originality in microbiology research.

###