J SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – May 6, 2011 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. John Rutherford, vice president of clinical operations at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has received the 2011 Gifted Educator Award given by the American College of Cardiology (ACC) in recognition of his innovative, outstanding teaching characteristics and compassionate qualities. Dr. Rutherford also has held leadership positions with the ACC, a nonprofit medical society with more than 39,000 members. He has served on committees that planned strategic educational programs, and he led a UT Southwestern/ACC extramural postgraduate program that examined all aspects of cardiology *Core Curriculum: A Problem-Based Approach*, published in 2003, resulted from that collaboration.

Dr. Peter Roland, chairman of otolaryngology – head and neck surgery at UT Southwestern ⁺ Medical Center, has been presented the Distinguished Service Award and Distinguished Award for Humanitarian Service by the American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Foundation. He received the dual awards during the foundation's annual meeting in Boston. The humanitarian award recognizes longtime dedication to humanitarian outreach in the field of otologic medicine and surgery. It is given to a single individual each year and is considered the foundation's most prestigious award. The distinguished service award is given for exceptional service in scientific programs, exhibits, continuing education courses and instructional courses of the society. The academy is the world's largest organization representing specialists who treat the ear, nose, throat, and related structures of the head and neck.

Dr. Dean Sherry, professor of radiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center and director of the Advanced Imaging Research Center, recently received fellowship status with the International Society of Magnetic Resonance. Dr. Sherry will receive the Fellowship Award at the group's annual meeting in May in Montreal. He holds a joint appointment at UT Southwestern and UT Dallas, where he is a professor of chemistry and holder of the Cecil H. and Ida Green Distinguished Chair in Systems Biology.

Dr. Philip Thomas, professor of physiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named holder of the Ruth S. Harrell Professorship in Medical Research. Dr. Thomas' work centers on the structure and folding of proteins. These proteins serve many vital functions when properly folded, such as transporting substances into or out of cells. Dr. Thomas studies how misfolding of proteins results in diseases such as cystic fibrosis and Parkinson's disease, and how to draw on this knowledge to develop new treatments.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9060 • Telephone 214-648-3404 • Fax 214-648-9119 www.utsouthwestern.edu