SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – March 7, 2001 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievements in their fields.

Dr. Dan Foster, chairman of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, recently received the Robert H. Williams Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award for 2001 from the Association of Professor of Medicine for demonstrating outstanding leadership.

The national organization provides training and guidance to its members. It is composed of chairs of internal medicine departments at 125 U.S. medical schools and several affiliated teaching hospitals.

Foster, who graduated from UT Southwestern in 1955, was president of the group from 1997-1998.

Dr. Xiaodong Wang, associate professor of biochemistry at UT Southwestern, has been named holder of the George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science.

Wang, who is also a Howard Hughes Medical Institute assistant investigator, was cited in 1999 by the Institute for Scientific Information as one of the most influential researchers in the world based on the number of significant papers he has published. His line of research, apoptosis or programmed cell death, is considered a particularly important field in science today.